U.S. Paralympics Swimming Nominates 34 Swimmers to Tokyo-Bound Roster

by Annemarie Blanco

MINNEAPOLIS – Following a weekend full of shattered record books, U.S. Paralympics Swimming today announced the 10 men and 24 women who will represent Team USA at the Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020. An even-keeled mix of fresh faces and returning Paralympians, the roster includes 11 first-time hopefuls and 13 experienced Paralympians who will head to Tokyo as the U.S. quest for domination in the pool continues.


Athletes were selected based on performances from the weekend’s U.S. Paralympic Team Trials in Minneapolis in addition to results from the recent Para Swimming World Series in Lewisville. The tenacious roster includes an array of depth across multiple classification groups as Team USA seeks to take one of the top spots in the medals table.


Leading the men’s side is newcomer and number one ranked breaststroker David Abrahams (Haverford, Pennsylvania) along with four-time Paralympian Rudy Garcia-Tolson (Bloomington, California) who each dazzled with stellar trials performances. Two-time Paralympian Evan Austin (Terre Haute, Indiana) and one-time Paralympian Robert Griswold (Freehold, New Jersey) bring a breadth of experience with 2019 world championship wins as each looks to add Paralympic glory to their list of accolades. The remaining men’s team includes six strong first-time contenders Parker Egbert (Greenwood, South Carolina), Jamal Hill (Inglewood, California), Joey Peppersack (Hopewell, Virgina), Lawrence Sapp (Waldorf, Maryland), Zachary Shattuck (Mt. Airy, Maryland) and Matthew Torres (Ansonia, Connecticut).


The robust women’s team is led by 23-time Paralympic medalist Jessica Long (Baltimore, Maryland) alongside Paralympic champions McKenzie Coan (Clarksville, Georgia), Elizabeth Marks (Prescott Valley, Arizona), Rebecca Meyers (Baltimore, Maryland) and Mallory Weggemann (Eagan, Minnesota). Double bronze medalist Hannah Aspden (Raleigh, North Carolina), Paralympian McLain Hermes (Dacula, Georgia), silver medalist Sophia Herzog (Salida, Colorado), Paralympian Martha Ruether (Allegany, New York), Paralympian Natalie Sims (Edina, Minnesota), two-time medalist Lizzi Smith (Austin, Texas) and bronze medalist Colleen Young (St. Louis, Missouri). 

A force to be reckoned with, rising stars Julia Gaffney (Mayflower, Arkansas), Anatasia Pagnois (Long Island, New York), Gia Pergolini (Roswell, Georgia) and Morgan Stickney (Cary, North Carolina) all punched their tickets after impressive showings at trials.


Men’s Names

David Abrahams

Evan Austin

Parker Egbert

Rudy Garcia-Tolson

Robert Griswold

Jamal Hill

Joey Peppersack

Lawrence Sapp

Zachary Shattuck

Matthew Torres

Women’s Names

Hannah Aspden

McKenzie Coan

Cailin Currie

Julia Gaffney

McClain Hermes

Sophia Herzog

Mikaela Jenkins

Keegan Knott

Ahalya Lettenberger

Jessica Long

Elizabeth Marks

Rebecca Meyers

Makayla Nietzel

Anastasia Pagonis

Gia Pergolini

Martha Ruether

Summer Schmit

Haven Shepherd

Natalie Sims

Leanne Smith

Elizabeth Smith

Morgan Stickney

Mallory Weggemann

Colleen Young